the big fish

So, there’s probably more interesting things to write about, but I’m going to tell you about the dream I had last night.

I was at McDonalds going through the drive through to get a Coke when I spotted two of my favorite bloggers sitting inside with their kids.

All of the sudden, I was inside introducing myself to them.

They invited me back to one of their houses where their kids were playing together happily, their husbands were drinking beer, and the bloggers were chatting, laughing, and drinking wine together.

I wanted to fit in so badly.

They told me to call my husband and kids and tell them to come over.

I kept calling.

I texted.

There was no reply.

I sat in the corner, observing.

Feeling so out of my element and wanting so badly to be a part of their fun, but my family wouldn’t join me and I didn’t fit in.

I don’t remember how it ended.

I don’t remember if it just stopped, if I left, if my family ever showed up, or if I sucked it up and joined the party without my family.

All I know is that I woke up this morning with the vivid memory of this dream.

It could be easy to read into.

I’m a very small fish in this big sea of blogging.

Maybe, as much as I just want to keep my little old blog small and just here for my family, friends, and the few of you that chose to read for whatever reason you do, I still feel like I want it to be more.

Maybe, I want to swim with the big fish.

Maybe, it meant nothing.

Maybe, it meant I read too many blogs.

Who knows…it was just a dream.

home is…nothing wrong with dreaming.

the un-dining room table

Thrifting, my new favorite past-time, has led to some fun changes in our home.

Last week I gave a preview of our un-dining room and promised to fill you in on where the table and chairs came from.

Well, here is the story of the table.

I have wanted a round table for the dining room for a while.

I did my research online and figured we could get a decent round table for $500.

Yeah, $500.

Without chairs.

I wanted something solid, all wood, that could hold up to the kiddos.

I also wanted it to have leaves so we could extend it for use when we had more than our family over for dinner.

One Saturday early this summer I took Lorelai to Goodwill…on a whim.

We did our usual route…looking for Pyrex, globes, and other fun stuff.

Then I made a spin through the furniture when I heard over the PA that all furniture was 50% for another 4 minutes.

That’s when I found it.

My round table.

Solid wood.

Two leaves.

And, a bonus…four chairs!

It was priced at $59.99.

Less 50%.

That made it less than $30!

I jumped on it…especially when I saw another lady eyeing it.

I texted Ryan after I left and said that I would need to use his truck to pick something up at Goodwill later that afternoon.

This is what I brought home.

Ryan might have been a little shocked, but I had a vision…for the table.

I promptly started to sand the thick speckled finish off the oak.

Every chance I got I would head out the the garage and sand.

I took all the pieces apart.

More sanding.

More sanding.

More sanding.

Until it looked like this.

Then I started painting the primer on.

Multiple thin coats.

After it was primed I put the base back together and painted.

Multiple thin coats.

I had help.

I would let each coat dry completely and then add another coat…alternating between working on the base and working on the top.

This was after one or two coats.

I’m not sure how many I actually ended up applying.

Sometimes I would just hang out and watch the paint dry.

Eventually, it started looking good.

I brought it inside and put a couple coats of paste wax on it.

This is what we ended up with.

I’m pretty darn pleased.

I love how the wood grain shows through.

You’ll notice we aren’t using the chairs.

They are currently in storage.

Anybody in Portland want them?

I’ll give you a good deal.

The story of the chairs will come soon.

Stay tuned…

For the record, I saw this table in the most recent Restoration Hardware catalog…

Source: restorationhardware.com via stephany @ on Pinterest

It’s $995.

home is…a little bit of do it yourself.

friends around the campfire

Summer is slowly fading to fall.

As I have said, it is my favorite time of year.

The sun retires earlier, the nights get cool, and a sweater in the morning is necessary.

One of my favorite spots in our yard is our firepit.

You can read more about our landscaping here, here, and here.

I have spent many quiet mornings around our firepit this summer, but my favorite times have been with friends around the campfire.

So, I did this…

I had old boards that the previous owners of our home used for a floor in a makeshift greenhouse. They had been sitting around for almost 5 years and I decided to do something other than use them for firewood.

I didn’t take photos for a tutorial, but here are the basics:

  • found a font I liked
  • printed it the size that would work (trial and error here)
  • traced over the edges with a ballpoint pen that left an indentation in the wood
  • penciled in the indentation
  • painted inside the lines

I’ll need to put another coat on the paint, but I was anxious to get it up on the fence. I just screwed the boards into the fence.

This is what I call “the best seat in the house”. It’s where I sit and share my coffee with Odyssey or watch the kids play (if I am not playing with them).

We’ve had lots of campfires this summer…on outdoor movie nights, just to have smores, or to enjoy and evening with friends and neighbors.

This goes to show that the unplanned, or unexpected, can sometimes be the best thing to ever happen.

I’m looking forward to a few more nights with friends around the campfire before the rain makes it way to the Pacific Northwest.

And, who doesn’t like a little Denver? John Denver.

{rocky mountain high}

He was born in the summer of his 27th year
Comin’ home to a place he’d never been before
He left yesterday behind him, you might say he was born again
You might say he found a key for every door

When he first came to the mountains his life was far away
On the road and hangin’ by a song
But the string’s already broken and he doesn’t really care
It keeps changin’ fast and it don’t last for long

But the Colorado rocky mountain high
I’ve seen it rainin’ fire in the sky
The shadow from the starlight is softer than a lullabye
Rocky mountain high

He climbed cathedral mountains, he saw silver clouds below
He saw everything as far as you can see
And they say that he got crazy once and he tried to touch the sun
And he lost a friend but kept his memory

Now he walks in quiet solitude the forest and the streams
Seeking grace in every step he takes
His sight has turned inside himself to try and understand
The serenity of a clear blue mountain lake

And the Colorado rocky mountain high
I’ve seen it rainin’ fire in the sky
You can talk to God and listen to the casual reply
Rocky mountain high

Now his life is full of wonder but his heart still knows some fear
Of a simple thing he cannot comprehend
Why they try to tear the mountains down to bring in a couple more
More people, more scars upon the land

And the Colorado rocky mountain high
I’ve seen it rainin’ fire in the sky
I know he’d be a poorer man if he never saw an eagle fly
Rocky mountain high

It’s Colorado rocky mountain high
I’ve seen it rainin’ fire in the sky
Friends around the campfire and everybody’s high
Rocky mountain high

This song reminds me of my roots and where Ryan and I met and spent almost 10 years together…Colorado.

home is…friends around the campfire.

*linking up with…

Home Stories A2Z

{milestones} baby girl is three

Don’t tell her I called her “baby girl”.

She won’t be happy.

We celebrated Lorelai’s third birthday last weekend with some good friends.

Being pregnant with her still feels like yesterday…

I sent the above photo to Ryan as a text message when he was at the National Sales meeting for his company. I think he was surprised.

It was quite a surprise when she wanted to come 2 weeks before my scheduled c-section (3 weeks before her due date). I had a plan in place, but apparently she had a plan of her own.

I’m just glad that Ryan made it home from Alaska a few days earlier.

Man, what a mess I would have been if he hadn’t been here…and our awesome neighbors who took Reece for the day.

She’s still my baby.

She always will be.

She’s always done things the way SHE wants to do them.

She only wants to wear “ballerine’s” (dresses).

They can’t be long sleeved.

They can’t have buttons.

They can’t have anything that needs to be tied.

She likes to wear dancing shoes…with flowers or sparkles on them.

She also only wants to wear nighties…no pj pants and tops.

She loves dolls, dress up, and stuffed animals.

She wants her nails to always have polish on them.

She also loves to get dirty in the backyard with her brother.

And, she is learning to hold her own with him.

If she can’t push or hit, she can scream the loudest.

She still won’t let me put a ponytail in her hair.

She wants me to take my ponytail out every night when I put her to bed.

She’s definitely a momma’s girl, but has a soft spot for her boys.

She can be overly emotional.

She likes to sleep.

She likes to just “hang out”.

She likes to dance and sing.

She likes to play ballerina and sing songs to make me happy.

One she has named The Sunflower Song goes something like this, “I’m fishing with a sunflower. I’m fishing with a sunflower. I’m fishing with a sunflower…”

She doesn’t want to miss out on what they boys are doing…whether it’s fishing, playing football, or otherwise…but is more of a spectator than an active participant.

She is a “happy, sunshine girl”…that is what she called herself this morning.

She is my baby girl…even if she is three.

home is…celebrating three years with baby girl.

school days

It’s official.

I now have a kindergartner…

…and a preschooler.

I have always loved the beginning of a new school year and I hope to get my kids excited about school each year instead of dreading it.

Last night I set out their clothes, made Reece’s lunch, and got them to bed early.

Today, I set my alarm for 5:30, made a pot of coffee (can you believe all we had in the house was decaf?!), fed the dogs and cat, and made the kids hot chocolate and breakfast.

Then, I headed upstairs to wake my sleepy heads.

Reece was sound asleep in his bed (bedtime was a breeze last night AND he slept in his bed all night) when I slipped into his room an quietly opened the shades on his window. I sat down next to him and put my hand on his back. He rubbed his eyes, stretched, and sat up.

I quietly said, “iIt’s time to get up. You’re a kindergartner today.”

We quietly walked into Lorelai’s room, opened her shades, and sat down on her bed. She sat up quickly, and I reminded her that it was the first day of school.

We went downstairs where the promise of a show and hot chocolate awaited.

Reece ate two scrambled eggs.

Lorelai ate a banana.

Reece listened and obeyed all morning.

Lorelai threw fits about breakfast, her clothes (no skirts, long sleeves, buttons, or ties), and her shoes.

Finally, I got Lorelai dressed and we headed out back for some photos…

They are both attending school at the same school Reece has been at the last two years. The kindergarten is state accredited, but private. Reece has 13 students in his class. Half of them were in his pre-K class last year. It’s awesome to see familiar faces.

It made the morning go smoothly.

One of the first faces he saw was his buddy James who has been in his class since he was 3.

We dropped Reece off at the kindergarten class.

No tears.

I was so proud of the little guy.

{Don’t let this photo fool you, he’s playing it cool}

I took Lorelai to her class, which is right next door.

She wanted me to stay.

I showed Reece to her in the classroom next door (through an adjoining door), handed her off to her teacher and left.

It’s easiest to do it that way.

{And, don’t let this photo fool you, this was way before we got to her class}

Now, you may wonder what I did with my 2 hours of free time…I slept.

I have been battling a cold for the last 10 days and I think it may have turned into a sinus infection.

Yeah, exciting first day of freedom, but I’ve got to get healthy!

When I went to pick Lorelai up they were walking from the gym back to the classroom. She was second in line and doing fine! She saw me and waved, but stayed in line with her class.

We were reunited and she wanted to show me some special things in her classroom.

We went home, had lunch and went back to pick up her brother (in the future, she will probably stay for lunch so I am not driving back and forth all morning).

He had a wonderful day and I think kindergarten is going to be awesome for him.

On the way to school I asked him what he wanted to learn at school today and he said he wants to learn to read!

home is…the beginning of a new school year.

a kitchen full of friends

This morning I hosted our weekly Friday playgroup.

It was our first playgroup since all of our oldest (except for Reece…he starts on Monday) started Kindergarten.

There were only six mommies this morning, but it still felt so nice to have my friends in my house talking, laughing, and supporting (there may have even been a few tears).

There were stories of hectic first mornings, continued struggles after a couple of days, and some super scary bus stories (that make me glad my little ones may not be able to ride a bus until middle school).

In the future, I am sure there will be stories of success, happiness, and new skills learned…but this was the first week.

We’ve had to change our timing to accommodate  new school schedules, and are thinking of adding in a monthly Friday Afternoon Happy Hour so the older kids (and husbands) can join us!

Our playgroup is evolving, as it has ever since we met each other 5 years ago sitting on the floor of a conference room in a building across the street from where all of our babies were born in the summer of 2007.

And, it is as much for us, as mommies, as it is for our kids.

Maybe, even more.

photos from {m}iphone

*photos from {m}iphone were taken using the Instagram app and put together in a collage using Picasa

home is…a kitchen full of friends.

{our home} the un-dining room

If you know me, you know I am always changing our house.

Always have.

Always will.

Mainly rearranging what we already have, because we don’t have the budget for major changes.

Although, the year that Lorelai was born (three years ago) we did make some major furniture purchases and changed out most of the carpet in our house.

Pretty much every room in our house got new furniture that year.

It was cool, but we also knew that the furniture had to last or “evolve” as our family needs changed.

And, for the most part, it has.

You can read my previous posts about some of the original changes we made here, here, and here.

This summer I made some changes to our living-room-turned-playroom-sometimes-guestroom…and the adjoining dining room, which I now refer to as the un-dining room (I think I borrowed that phrase from Megan and her Craft House).

I will do some more posts on the specifics of the changes, but for now here is a preview…

Our living-room-turned-playroom-sometime-guest-room is the first room you see when you enter our house…and it is completely open to and adjoining our dining room.

We do not have a breakfast nook in our kitchen, so we eat most of our meals in our dining room.

It has also been my main workspace and crafting area, so eating there when I was in the middle of some kind of crafting escapade was not always workable.

And, it was frustrating.

So, I moved furniture…and went thrifting.

I wanted a round table for the area…everything in the room was angular and the space needed some curves.

So, I added one.

I also added globes, embroidery hoops with fabric, and some new lighting.

We moved our old farmhouse style table to the area between the playroom and the dining room, which was previously open play space or filled by a train table that we donated to Goodwill. It is now used as a craft table/workspace for me and the kids.

This now leaves our dining room table open for meals…yay!

I will save the story about how the dining room table and chairs came to be for future posts.

{And, I hope to get some better photos with my DSLR…I used my iphone for these and the lighting was not that great…glaring through the windows or too dark.}

Stay tuned…

home is…happy spaces.

bedtime

Just fair warning…this is kind of a rambling post, but I just have to hit publish ’cause I’m too tired to think about it anymore…

 

it’s killing me.
not really, but…
i put the kids to bed by myself on average 3 nights out of the week.
we have a routine.
bath (every other night)
read books in lorelai’s room
take Reece to his room and he can read while I settle lorelai
lorelai easily snuggles me, and let’s me leave to get Reece to bed on the promise that I will come back and snuggle her.
then comes the hard part…
getting Reece to settle down
its always been a battle to get him to settle to sleep.
although he slept through the night (8 hours) at 8 weeks old, he was always difficult to settle to sleep. we would literally bounce on a balance ball for hours to settle him…or just let him cry.
when we transitioned him to his big boy bed he was not even two.
we wanted him in his bed before lorelai was born.
we (i) didn’t want to cribs.
now, in hindsight, I feel like we should have kept him in a crib longer.
from the time we put him in a bed that he can get out of bedtime has been a nightmare.
we’ve tried baby gates, locking the door, reward charts, bedtime rules, bedtime pass, etc. etc.
I remember when lorelai was a baby and Reece kept getting out of bed. I tried the super nanny technique. night after night I would put him back in bed “without emotion” over 50 times. I think a couple of nights it was over 100 times.
we have had some decent stretches where some techniques work…then something happens to stir it up…travel, visitors, sickness, or some kind of change in routine.
and, when Ryan is home. forget about it. he plays us off eachother.
he has always thrived off of routine and this summer we have had NONE.
it’s been awesome, but also not so awesome.
most nights, I spend from 8-10 trying to get him to sleep.
he eventually falls asleep if I snuggle him in his bed or if he can come snuggle in mine.
and, don’t even get me started on the coming into mommy and poppas bed in the middle of the night!
he started doing that about 9 months ago..maybe even longer.
I used to put him back in his bed, but night after night of doing that exhausted me…and I got sick…over and over again.

****

I wrote all of that 2 nights ago after being home with the kids for three nights alone. The first night Reece went to bed like a champ. I was so happy, but I was also sick and went right to bed after him.

The second night I just gave in and let him sleep with me in my bed…he finally fell asleep around 10.

The third night we battled it out. I didn’t want to give in, but I didn’t want to lock his door or get angry…I actually HATE (and I don’t like the word hate) locking his door, but there were some times where it had to be done. He finally gave in and fell asleep on his own after I helped to remind him that he was brave and his room is the same fun, safe room he likes to play in during the day.

Last night, Ryan was home. We split bedtime duties like we always do (I rarely get a full on break from bedtime duties because Lorelai doesn’t want anybody but mommy putting her to bed). Reece played us against each other. We’re all sick, and I finally gave in and had him come into bed with me.

So, I’m not really sure what to do next.

I would love to have at least an hour after 8 pm to have some time for myself (when Ryan is gone) and time with Ryan when he is here. I go to bed early because I NEED my sleep…or I get sick. So, staying up later to get MY time in is not an option…especially with earlier mornings starting next week with school everyday.

I am hoping a regular daily routine will wear him out enough so he will just be exhausted.

Just kind of venting…and asking for help.

I’m tired, sick, and cranky…and secretly wishing my kids started school this week like everybody else!

home is…sometimes not knowing the right answer.